top of page

Country Music Star BRELAND to Host the First ‘I’m Just Me: A Charley Pride Celebration of Inclusion’. Honorees Include Reyna Roberts and The War and Treaty.

Ahead of its inaugural upfront presentation next week, Amazon MGM Studios, in partnership with Amazon Music and the Academy of Country Music (ACM), announced the inaugural I’m Just Me: A Charley Pride Celebration of Inclusion, taking place on Tuesday, May 14 at the Omni PGA Frisco Resort in Frisco, Texas. Country innovator and Amazon Music’s 2022 Breakthrough Artist,BRELAND, will host the event ahead of the 59th Academy of Country Music Awards and during ACM Awards Week. Hosted by 16-time ACM Award-winning entertainment icon, Reba McEntire, the ACM Awards will be free to stream live exclusively for a global audience across 240+ countries and territories on Prime Video from Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas on Thursday, May 16 at 8 p.m. EDT / 7 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m. PDT.

I’m Just Me: A Charley Pride Celebration of Inclusion is named after the legendary Country Music artist and baseball player. Pride (1934 - 2020) persevered racial adversity throughout his career, eventually earning international superstardom for his musical talents and receiving prestigious accolades including three Grammy Awards, the Academy of Country Music Pioneer Award (1994), Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award (2017), and more. The iconic star broke down racial barriers and became the first Black artist to have a No. 1 Country record, paving a path for Black Country artists. His legacy as a team owner lives on through the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation’s Charley Pride Fellowship Program, which will be recognized at the event.

“Charley Pride was a trailblazer in the true sense of the word. He paved the way for innumerable artists that followed in his footsteps and his success is a reminder that Country Music traces its roots back to diverse artists and traditions,” said Ryan Redington, GM of Amazon Music. “Amazon Music is honored to come together with the Academy of Country Music and Amazon MGM Studios to not only celebrate Charley Pride’s legacy, but also honor the artists, creators, and executives that carry his spirit forward.”

The private event will recognize and celebrate the achievements of 16 honorees in Country Music who embody Pride’s triumphs and actively serve as trailblazers and representatives of hope, advocacy, and innovation in the music industry. 

The 2024 honorees are: 

  • Alice Randall (New York Times best-selling Author, award-winning songwriter)

  • Alicia Warwick (Senior Executive Director, The Recording Academy Nashville Chapter)

  • Armand Hutton (2x Grammy nominee)

  • BRELAND (PLATINUM artist/songwriter/producer and ACM Lift Every Voice Award winner)

  • Dion Pride & Mrs. Rozene Pride (Family of Charley Pride)

  • Kortney Toney (Programming & Community Engagement Manager, Academy of Country Music)

  • Naima Cochrane (Journalist; Black Music Action Coalition Board Member)

  • Reyna Roberts (Country Music Artist/Songwriter & Pianist, featured on Beyoncé’s Cowboy Carter album)

  • Rissi Palmer (Country Music Artist/Songwriter; Host, Color Me Country Radio)

  • Shannon Sanders (Executive Director, Creative, BMI Nashville; 3X Grammy-Winning Music Producer; ACM Board Member; Immediate Past Chair of the Academy’s Lifting Voice Council)

  • The War and Treaty (Country Music Artists)

  • Tiera Kennedy (R&B, Country Music Artist & Songwriter, Apple Radio Host)

  • Wendy Moten (Country Music Artist)

  • Willie “Prophet” Stiggers (Activist; Co-Founder, President and CEO, Black Music Action Coalition)

Presented by Amazon MGM Studios, Amazon Music, and Prime Video’s Culture Rated, guests will enjoy a welcome reception featuring The Portrait Studio, shot by celebrity photographer Gladimir Gelin, followed by a seated brunch and program. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
SSIY Skyscraper.jpg
Screen Shot 2024-04-19 at 8.42.29 PM.png
bottom of page