top of page

Cicely Tyson, Will Smith and Tabitha Brown Bring Home NAACP Awards for Literary Work!

The upcoming NAACP Image Awards have already released the names of some of this year's winners and the list is a book lovers DREAM!

If you've been hanging around here for any length of time, you'll know that we are AVID readers. We love a good autobiography and a juicy memoir and the NAACP Image Award winners for this year are a few of our favorite reads! First, our dearly departed, legendary icon Cicely Tyson won Outstanding Literary Work – Debut Author category for her memoir "Just As I Am". This book let us all into Tyson's ultra private life and even dropped a few bombshells!

Will Smith won Outstanding Literary Work – Autobiography for his autobiography titled simply "Will". Please do yourself a favor and get the audio version of this book. Hearing Smith act out different parts of his life and rap certain songs was a pure joy!

Another winner we loved to see was Influencer turned Author Tabitha Brown. Brown won an Image Award last year for Outstanding Social Media Personality. This year she won the Outstanding Literary Work-Instructional for her book "Feeding the Soul (Because It's My Business)". This book is another one that you NEED to listen to! Brown's voice is EVERYTHING!

Other categories and winners for this year are:

Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction

Long DivisionKiese Laymon

Outstanding Literary Work – Non-Fiction

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story – Nikole Hannah-Jones

Outstanding Literary Work – Poetry

Perfect BlackCrystal Wilkinson

Outstanding Literary Work – Children

Stacey’s Extraordinary WordsStacey Abrams, Kitt Thomas

Outstanding Literary Work – Youth/Teens

Ace of SpadesFaridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Outstanding Podcast – News and Information

Blindspot: “Tulsa Burning”

Outstanding Podcast – Arts and Entertainment

“Jemele Hill is Unbothered”

Outstanding Podcast – Society and Culture

“Jemele Hill is Unbothered”

Outstanding Podcast – Lifestyle / Self-Help

“Two Funny Mamas” – Sherri Shepherd & Kym Whitley

Special Award: Youth Activist of The Year

Channing Hill

The 53rd NAACP Image Awards will air Saturday, Feb. 26 at 8:00 PM ET/ 5:00 PM PT on BET. Hosted by Anthony Anderson, the ceremony will feature a performance from nine-time Grammy winner Mary J. Blige.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags